January 2013
Participation in Sports by Disabled Athletes

As the national leadership organization for high school sports and performing arts activities, the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) is in full support of the policy of inclusion that underlies the guidelines issued by the U.S. Department of Education's Office for Civil Rights (OCR) for K-12 schools to provide opportunities for disabled students to participate on athletic teams.

In the most recent High School Athletics Participation Survey, the NFHS' 51 member state associations and the 19,100 schools in those associations reported that almost 7.7 million boys and girls participate in high school sports. Bob Gardner, NFHS executive director, said even more individuals now will have the opportunity for that once-in-a-lifetime experience of high school sports.

"We believe in the values of participation for all students," Gardner said. "Providing opportunities for disabled students adds value to their educational experiences."

Read more here.


January 2013
Eight Receive NFHS Citations

The NFHS Board of Directors selects eight athletic administrators (one from each of the eight sections) to receive the NFHS Citation Award.  Recipients of the NFHS Citation are selected from persons nominated by their respective state athletic director associations. This award recognizes athletic administrators from across the nation who have excelled in the profession.

The 2012 NFHS Citation Awards were presented in December at San Antonio during the National Athletic Director Conference to: Andy Chiles, CMAA, Orlando, Florida; Dr. Carol Chory, CMAA, Virginia Beach, Virginia; Timothy Graham, CMAA, Tumwater, Washington; Dennis Kiah, CAA, Brewer, Maine; Larry Moklestad, CAA, Boone, Iowa; Mike Purdey, Bellevue, Nebraska; Cindy Riley, CAA, Tucson, Arizona; and Diane Shuck, CMAA, Colorado Springs, Colorado.  Here is the award winning group.

January 2013
National Coaches of the Year Tapped by NFHS

Twenty-two high school coaches from across the country have been selected as 2012 National Coaches of the Year by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Coaches Association.  The NFHS, which has been recognizing coaches through an awards program since 1982, honors coaches in the top 10 girls sports and top 10 boys sports (by participation numbers), and in one "other" category that is not included in these 20 categories. For 2012 awards, the NFHS has added Spirit as a separate award category as well. Winners of NFHS awards must be active coaches during the year in which they receive their award. This year's awards recognize coaches for the 2011-12 school year.  Go here to read more about this year's honorees.

January 2013
Nine Gain DSA Distinction

Nine individuals who have made outstanding contributions to interscholastic athletics have been named recipients of the 2012 Distinguished Service Awards given by the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (NIAAA).  These individuals were honored December 18 in San Antonio, Texas, during the banquet at the 43rd annual National Athletic Directors Conference conducted jointly by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) and the NIAAA.

The Distinguished Service Award is presented annually to individuals from within the NIAAA membership in recognition of their length of service, special accomplishments and contributions to interscholastic athletics at the local, state and national levels. Nominations are submitted by state athletic director associations, screened by the NIAAA Awards Committee, and selected by the NIAAA Board of Directors.

This year's winners include James (Jim) Brown, CAA, athletic director, Fishers (Indiana) High School; Dr. Ted D'Alessio, CMAA, district athletic director, Millburn (New Jersey) Township Public Schools; Michael Hart, CAA, athletic director, Salesianum School, Wilmington, Delaware;  Karen Higel, CAA, district athletic director, Denver (Colorado) Public Schools; Cliff Hill, CAA, district director of activities, Campbell County (Wyoming) School District; Tommy Marshall, CMAA, director of athletics, Marist School, Atlanta, Georgia; Dr. Bob Reznicek, CMAA, assistant principal/athletic director, Boys Town (Nebraska) High School; Susan Robbins, CMAA, athletic director, Yarmouth (Maine) High School; and Kendra Tomsic, CAA, athletic director, Rowland Hall-St. Mark's School, Salt Lake City, Utah.


January 2013
Ten Added to Athletic Director Hall of Fame

Ten high school athletic directors were inducted into the fourth Hall of Fame class of the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (NIAAA) December 18 in San Antonio, Texas, during banquet festivities at the 43rd annual National Athletic Directors Conference co-sponsored by the NIAAA and the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS). This year’s conference was held December 14-18 at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio. 

The 2012 NIAAA Hall of Fame class includes Jeff Dietze, CMAA, Virginia; Gerry Durgin, CMAA, Maine; Dr. Thomas Hallstrom, Nebraska;  Robert Hopek, CMAA, New Jersey; Bill Mayo, Arkansas; Marquis Ross, CMAA, Idaho; Virgil Sasso (deceased), New Jersey; Otis Sennett, New York; Ken Shultz, CMAA, Illinois; and Wayne Taylor, CAA (deceased), Florida. To read more about the newest members of the NIAAA Hall of Fame, go here.

AAP Media
Advertise on T-Shirts
• About Us
• Our Promise
• Conferences
• Employment
• Contact Us
• Benefits
• Products
• Testimonials
• Ad Sizes
• FREE T-shirts
• Ad Sizes
• Products
• Sending Your Logo
• Pay Invoice Online
• Advertise on T-shirts
• Advertise in Newsletters
• Current Partnerships
• Interactive Newsletters
• Latest News